How I Met My Best Friend

Becky Hardy Schutz, PC 2000, shares the story of how Sigma Kappa impacted her life.


It all began in the fall of 2000 when I left behind my comfort zone and headed off to college. When I arrived at Mizzou a week early, I was one of about 1,800 girls who came early to rush a sorority. I had known I wanted to be Greek from the time I was in 5th grade and my older sister became a Sigma Kappa at SMSU (Missouri State U, now for all you youngins).

I went through Rush as a girl who never had close girl friends. I honestly thought the whole idea of parading us around was hokey. I never even once thought about all of the hard work, dedication, time, and love that goes into the whole show.

Once I received my bid to Sigma Kappa, I was excited to begin my life as a legacy. I met so many women in my first semester that I never thought I would remember their names. That all changed my sophomore year when I moved into the house.

Women who I had seen around campus and at our functions now became friends and homework buddies. I now had a full live-in set of friends and sisters. They understood me, and for the first time I understood why we as women NEED girl friends.

I met one friend in particular during my freshman year that really clicked with me. Nicole was just as silly and crazy as I was and we had so much fun. She was the ying to my yang.

Through the years we grew as women and always managed to keep in touch after graduation. About a year after we graduated, I had just ended a 5 year relationship to a man that treated me about as well as he treated my friends. I lost many friends due to the way he not only treated them, but more importantly to how he treated me. (See, girl friends are important!)  One night I called Nicole up and told her I needed a distraction. We went out that night and had so much fun that we started having our girls’ nights every weekend. I relished having my best friend back. She healed my heart in a way I never knew was possible. She taught me how strong I was, and that I deserved better.

Fast forward to 2 years later. I met the man of my dreams and he asked me to marry him! Of course choosing your bridesmaids and Maid of Honor is a hard choice. I chose Nicole as my Maid of Honor and she stood up next to me on my big day with my sisters and other best friend, Kara.

Becky Hardy Schutz Alumna2

She was the first to know when we found out we were pregnant and we were the first to know when she met the man of her dreams and was getting married. I was her MOH in her wedding. We attended the other’s baby showers and welcomed the 4 beautiful future Sigma Kappa legacies with loving arms.

Sigma Kappa taught me very important lessons throughout the 4 years, but the greatest thing I took from there was the value of great friends/sisters.

Leave a Reply

