A Personal Connection

Megan Hampson, PC 2014


My grandmother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s about 2-3 years ago, just a couple months later my Grandpa was diagnosed with dementia (a form of Alzheimer’s). At first my grandma had trouble remembering little things, like the time or just getting her grandchildren’s names confused. My grandpa’s memory was still perfectly fine, and he was still able to communicate with us while knowing what was going on with his wife.

As the months went by, things started going faster for my grandpa. It wasn’t just getting our names confused or slipping up on what words to use in a sentence, but soon he forgot who his own children were. It got so bad, that if I my mom entered his house he’d think she was a robber or a thief, and he would get very scared and hostile towards her. At this point, my grandma’s Alzheimer’s was still in the slower phase, and she had to accept what was going on with her husband. She would get very upset if he would forget whom she was or he’d get scared of her in his house. Although my grandma was diagnosed first, Alzheimer’s has been going a lot slower for her. My mother and her five other siblings, along with my 15 cousins had to deal with this.

Even though this was the hardest thing we’ve ever experienced as a family, it brought us closer than ever. Each and every week we went to my grandparents and spent time with them while we could, which is what was most important to our family.

My grandpa’s dementia went quick and he passed away in July of 2014. While the memories I had with him will never leave, we all still are here to still support my grandmother. Her Alzheimer’s is getting worse and worse. Although hers was pretty bad last year, she understood that her husband had passed, which was the hardest thing for all of us to watch. I’ve never seen two people love each other so much for so long-55 years.

My grandpa had passed just a few weeks before I went through recruitment, and when I watched Sigma Kappa’s philanthropy video and saw that they supported Alzheimer’s, I had to join in support of my family and grandparents.

Leave a Reply

