Closer Than Ever

Niki Finn talks about how college improved her relationship with her mom.


Once I decided that I wanted to come to Mizzou, I decided to join a sorority. Before rush week, my mom told me that I didn’t have to choose Sigma Kappa if I didn’t want to. This made me feel less pressured during the recruitment process and it also made me feel better about my decisions. The recruitment process was very nerve-racking, but it lead me to find which sorority was right for me, Sigma Kappa. After accepting my bid into Sigma Kappa, my mom and I were so excited that we get to share a sisterhood bond together. I have never had a sister before and now I have tons of new sisters, including my mom. My mom and I were already very close before I joined Sigma Kappa, but now we are even closer, and I am so thankful for that. My favorite Sigma Kappa memory that includes my mom was when she came down to initiate me. My mom initiated me with her pin form her days as a Sigma Kappa. I felt that it was such a memorable experience to have someone who means so much to me initiate me in to a sisterhood that I will have my whole life. My mom gave me her pin to keep and take care of and that is so special to me. Although it seems strange, I believe that college has made my mom and I closer. Whenever I come home we talk a lot more and spend our time doing things together rather than just sitting on the couch watching TV. I love my mom so much and I am so pleased to call her my sister. Being away from her in college has been very hard for me. I have to do a lot of things myself and make a lot of adult choices. I appreciate my mom more now because I realize how much work she truly does and how much she truly wants to see me succeed in life. One of my favorite things about my mom is that she is always giving me the best advice. Even tough sometimes I don’t want to hear it, I know what she is telling me is beneficial for me. She also supports me with everything I do and I can’t imagine my life without her. Whenever she’s around I’m always smiling more and you can see how much love we truly have for each other. People always tell us we look a like and can tell how much we love each other. I only hope that I have a daughter that will have the same type of relationship with me some day. Thank you for everything you do. I love you Mama!

Leave a Reply

