Our Core Values: Friendship

This week, we are going to be featuring each of our four core values. Check out what Maggie Deiss has to say about Friendship!


Whenever I hear the word “Friendship,” it makes me think of that silly song we sang in Girl Scouts — “Make new friends but keep the old, one is silver and the other’s gold!” Even though my Girl Scout career ended in third grade, that old rhyme randomly ran through my head during my first week at college, when I was laying in bed after the craziness of Recruitment had ended. I had grown up in the same small town my entire life. I’ve had the same best friends since I was five, and suddenly all of us were in different states. It didn’t hit me how much they meant to me until we were saying goodbye, and honestly I was scared that I would never find people that could fill their shoes.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. One of my favorite things about being in a sorority is that there are literally hundreds of Greek women to meet. The best part is that we all have something in common — we are all proud to be in Sigma Kappa, and we will always be there for our sisters, through the ups and the downs. I hate to admit it, but college is hard. It comes with working your butt off to make the grade, boy issues, and a ton of stress, all while trying to figure out what you want to do with the rest of your life. And over the course of this year I’ve seen my sisters get each other through it by just being there for one another. I believe that Sigma Kappa embodies one of our core values of friendship because I’m constantly blown away by how supportive and open my sisters are for each other. If I ever needed class help, life advice, a much-needed girls night, or just a big hug, all I had to do was walk into the SKastle.

I don’t want to sound like I spent my freshman year as a stressed-out mess. Actually, it was one of the most fun experiences of my life, and I mean it when I say I can’t imagine what the last semesters would have been like if I weren’t in Sigma Kappa. I saw my sisters in my dorm, in my classes, at study hours and at night. I know this deserves an eye-roll, but this sorority became a home away from home for me. It was like I blinked and the first few months of college had flown by, and I suddenly had wonderful friends I could depend on. Together we watched musicals, cried over sappy movies at 3 a.m., almost died driving in a rainstorm to Walmart, ran the mile to Hot Box in the middle of winter, went ugly-sweater shopping, and a thousand other adventures that I could talk about for ages, but this post would be obnoxiously long.

I wouldn’t be the person I am now without my friends in Sigma Kappa. My pledge class, and every other class, is chock-full of incredible girls that have been my role models, supporters and wonderful friends. My sisters are genuine, down-to-earth, kind, hilarious, beautiful, and understanding, and I couldn’t ask for anything else. So far I danced, I cried, I laughed, and I had a really really really good time, and I have Sigma Kappa to thank for that.

Leave a Reply

