Our Core Values: Personal Growth

Emily Chu talks about our third core value, Personal Growth.


It is difficult to put  all of the experiences I have had in only two years of being a Sigma Kappa into words. I have been privileged to be a part of a variety of volunteer and fundraising opportunities, socials, Mizzou homecoming, and so much more. I have had to learn a lot of time-management in my time at Mizzou. I am proud to be a Sigma Kappa and to be one of the three hundred women working hard to reach our goals. As the chapter has grown in members and accomplishments, I have also felt a change in my own personal growth. I feel a part of something larger than myself, which has given me responsibilities to become a better person, not just for myself, but for the girls I call sisters.

Throughout my life, personal growth has been very important to me. I have always held myself to high personal standards and have strived to become a well-rounded individual. Before college, I had no close connections to Greek life and I was unsure if sorority life would be for me. However, I wanted to push myself out of my comfort zone. Even though I came from an all-girl high school where I felt I had learned to become independent and outgoing, Sigma Kappa instilled these qualities within me even more. After joining Sigma Kappa, I realize how vital active participation and giving back to the community is. The intelligent and driven girls around me are always so busy doing everything it takes to accomplish their goals. It inspires me to work harder and do more for others.

I have also learned that Sigma Kappa is much more than a resume builder or an extracurricular activity. Sigma Kappa teaches me to take a break and recognize how lucky I am to be around so many amazing people. I get so wrapped up in my own world of school and planning out my future, I forget how much I should be enjoying the here and now. When I look back, I won’t remember the projects and assignments, but I will remember the sisterhood retreat where we all got covered in paint in the middle of a sunny park. I came home with my white Sigma Kappa t-shirt soaked in color and a smile on my face. It was one of my favorite college memories because I felt surrounded by people who cared about each other. I’ve learned to focus on what is important. Sigma Kappa reminds me that even when I feel too stressed or too busy to meet up with my sorority family or run and grab coffee with a sister, I must make time for the people who matter.

Being surround by three hundred girls has taught me to not only focus on myself but to focus on those around me. Even when I feel like college and life can be overwhelming, I am reminded by my sisters that others understand the same battles and struggles. It’s not easy figuring out who you are or who you want to be in life, but through Sigma Kappa I am learning how to handle these responsibilities and grow as a person.

Leave a Reply

