Summer Internships

Our sisters have been all around the country this summer! Check out the amazing things they have been doing!


11851096_10203371653970382_446666735_nSabrina Salerno, Sophomore 

Law intern at The Law Offices of R. Michael Coker, Atlanta, Georgia

“I answered calls, scanned, wrote depositions, wrote demands, helped with a process for court, sat in on a deposition and much more. I loved experiencing what I will (hopefully) be doing in a couple years. I definitely learned more than I ever thought I would.”

Martha Farrell, Senior

Corporate Campaign intern at Make-A-Wish, Chicago, Illinois

“As the Corporate Campaign intern, I was responsible for assisting in launching and supporting many different corporate events. I worked with big companies, such as Maggiano’s Little Italy and Panera Bread, to ensure that their fundraising events would be as successful as possible! My big project of the summer was working on the Lemon-Aid for Kids promotion at Panera Bread. I was responsible for coordinating over 100 volunteers to work lemonade stands at 37 participating Panera locations in Illinois. The campaign raised over $27,000 in donations, which was so exciting! All of my hard work paid off! My favorite part of my internship was being able to interact with wish children and families. I spoke with so many amazing, grateful kids and families on the phone who were so thankful to have received a wish. It was very cool to hear about so many amazing wish stories from the participants themselves!”

Gloor_Lindsay_mgLindsay Gloor, Junior

Editorial Intern at the Daily Herald Newspaper, Lisle, Illinois

“I worked as a general assignment reporter, writing my own stories and collaborating with full-time reporters on their work. My favorite part was establishing a working relationship with my extremely talented colleagues.”

11843987_10205995005172565_16326615_nJenna Allison, Senior

Marketing, Cerner Health Conference Team at Cerner Corporation, Kansas City, Missouri

“I assisted in internal communications, event planning, keynote speaker selection and a myriad of other random tasks for Cerner’s $6 million annual conference. This is my sixth internship with the company! I have also worked in sales support, HR, contract management, finance, and pricing and packaging. Learning more about how Cerner’s products saves lives and knowing that I do a small part to contribute to that. Also, getting offered a full-time position upon graduation was pretty sweet too after six years of being an intern.”

FullSizeRenderKatie Hynes, Senior

Intern at FOX2 News, St Louis, Missouri

“I assisted web producers, covered breaking news, and worked with reporters and producers. My favorite part of the summer was getting retweeted by the St. Louis Cardinals!!!”

FullSizeRender-4Molly Brenner, Junior

Sales Department at Marc Jacobs and Fashion Department at Good Housekeeping Magazine, NYC

“At Marc Jacobs I analyzed sales data through excel. I learned a lot about excel, such as v-lookups filters. I also assisted with market for Resort and entered in orders to AX. At Good Housekeeping, I checked in and out samples that came into the closet, attended press previews and assisted with photo shoots. I loved being in NYC! I love New York so much and will move there after graduation. I also met so many cool people at both my internships. Also, at Marc I got to pick out what Maddy from ‘Dance Moms’ was going to wear to the teen choice awards!”

IMG_4715Molly Scharnhorst, Senior

The Down Syndrome Association of Greater St. Louis

“I assisted the program director with planning activities, camps, walks and other classes for individuals with Down Syndrome. My favorite memory was working bike camp. I was assigned to be Frankie’s helper all week. By the end of the week he was up riding by himself on two wheels. At the end of the week he was so happy he cried and couldn’t thank me enough!”

Brooke Demuzio, Senior

People Services at St. John’s Hospital, Springfeild, Illinois

“I am the People Services intern. I have had real-life, hands-on experience in Human Resources related areas, such as compensation and benefits, colleague engagement, employee relations, recruitment and retention, pre-employment processes, employee health, and labor laws. One of my favorite parts of the internship was spending part of my time in the HSHS Central Illinois Division office. St. John’s Hospital is one of four hospitals within the division, and I was able to help out in their office. Another favorite part being an intern at St. John’s was being included in recruitment team meetings with the other recruiters and being able to give input in ways to better our recruiting processes.”

IMG_0444Samantha Healey, Senior

Summer training for the United States Navy at Lemoore Naval Air Base, Lemoore, California

“I shadowed Naval aviators attached to squadron VFA-154 (Black Knights). These aviators fly/manage weapons systems in some of the Navy’s fighter jets. I was able to go up in a Super Hornet (Navy’s fighter jet) and ride along while the pilot preformed jet acrobatics. I was also lifted from the ground by a Navy Search and Rescue helicopter.”

10647174_10152724272593698_1586396811193631201_nColleen McGovern, Senior

Short-term rehab at the Bluffs Nursing Home, Columbia, Missouri

“I performed admissions interviews, which assessed resident’s cognitive abilities and risk for depression. I also helped with discharge plans to ensure safe home transitions. My favorite part was singing and dancing with the residents at their happy hour!”

Leave a Reply

