Why I Walk Wednesday

Today, we are taking time to remember why we walk to End Alzheimer’s. One of our three philanthropies is Gerontology with an emphasis in Alzheimer’s.

Alzheimer’s is the 6th leading cause of death in the United States. It is the only top 10 cause of death in America that cannot be prevented, caused or slowed. Almost two-thirds of American’s with Alzheimer’s are women.

For the past two years, the Epsilon Mu chapter has been the #1 fundraising Sigma Kappa chapter in the nation. Last year, we raised over $37,000.

On Oct. 4, we will participate in the Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Some of our sisters have shared their personal connections to this horrible disease.

‪#‎whyIwalk‬ I walk because almost two thirds of Americans’ with Alzheimer’s are women like my grandma Eleanor Metzendorf. I walk because I want to see a cure for Alzheimer’s disease in my life time. I walk because only 45% of Americans with Alzheimer’s receive a diagnosis. I walk because I want to end ALZ. Please consider donating to my efforts for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s – which is on October 4th, only 18 days away! (I am 90% of the way to my goal woohoo!!!) Thank you all for reading this and supporting me!” -AnnMarie Metzendorf

“Sigma Kappa is important to me for many reasons, but our philanthropy is at the top of that list. Alzheimer’s Disease is not one that is commonly talked about, except by those it has affected. My grandpa passed away from the disease in 2012, and there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about him. I don’t remember him as the man he became in those last few years, but as the man who took me to feed fish off a dock in Florida, who could always make us laugh with a witty joke. I don’t want any other family to have to experience what my family did. So, please, consider making a small donation for our cause. Every little bit helps. ‪#‎WhyIWalk‬” -Lindsay Gloor

quickfacts-img

Some facts and figures on Alzheimer’s.

Leave a Reply

