Member Spotlight – Rachael Stark

Sister Rachael Stark, a sophomore, is also a member of Mizzou’s ROTC program. Army ROTC is a military organization that prepares students to become officers in the United States Army upon graduation. Here’s what she has to say about it:

rachael.1

Stark (right) and a friend at the ROTC booth.

As a second-year cadet and squad leader, I have many more responsibilities than I did last year. This semester I have a squad, and I am responsible for being a part of their chain of command to disperse information and help with any problems. It is fulfilling being a squad leader because I enjoy being there for the other cadets as a mentor.

I joined this organization because I am interested in pursuing a career in the military after college. I actually enjoy waking up early to workout! I have significantly improved my physical fitness through early morning Physical Training (PT). At first, 5:30 am sounded early to me, but now I am used to managing my time between Sigma Kappa, ROTC, and school. Military science classes and labs have taught me about the military and useful leadership skills. I have also met friends through this program that I know I will have for the rest of my life. We all have become really close because we all share common goals and values so it’s nice to have a friend there to motivate you to run faster and be the best cadet possible.

Untitled.2One of my favorite stories from Army ROTC was when we went to the rappelling tower at East Field during my first semester of ROTC. I was very scared – new people, new experience, and heights. I got to the top of the tower, knees shaking. I looked down, which was a mistake. I looked over and saw my battle buddies behind me. “You can do it, Stark!” they cheered. I looked down and the cadet at the bottom smiled and gave me a thumbs-up. These cadets barely knew me but already had my back. I got this, I thought and I jumped. Thanks to my fellow cadets and their encouragement, I overcame my fear of the big rappelling wall. I can’t wait to do it again!

I would highly recommend for others that are interested in the military to get involved! This organization is a great way to learn leadership skills that transfer over to all aspects of daily life. I have learned to love running, and I am very excited to learn more in the next two years that I have in this program.

Leave a Reply

