Why Sigma Kappa?

As we prepare to welcome a new group of wonderful women into our sisterhood this week, three sisters look back on the reasons why they have found Sigma Kappa to be their home.  Here’s what they have to say:

Untitled4

Haley (left) and her big, Alli!

I chose Sigma Kappa because it helped me feel as though I was a part of something bigger than myself. I have always felt the desire to be involved and I enjoy meeting people so I thought that joining a sorority would be a great opportunity for me. Through joining Sigma Kappa, I feel as though I have already become more of the individual I want to be due to the friendship and advice of the fabulous women in this sorority. During recruitment, I looked forward to coming to Sigma Kappa because each day when girls would ask me about my interests and involvement in high school, each individual I spoke to would have a recommendation for which organizations I should join on campus and what activities I could participate in to help me find my niche at Mizzou. These little snippets of advice from these women had such a positive influence on my recruitment and college experience right from the start. I was touched by the fact that these girls that I would have 10-20 minute conversations with were so compassionate and eager to help me feel comfortable and accepted on campus before I even was invited to join their sisterhood. I am so happy I did choose to join this sisterhood because through it I have met so many beautiful people, both inside and out, and have already learned so much that I know will stick with me forever.

Untitled2

Haley and her sister, Rachel!

My older sister is also a Sigma Kappa here at Mizzou and getting to share in this experience with her has meant so much to me.  Immediately after accepting my bid, I met my 3 wonderful roommates for next year (hi Sam, Lexi and Kaitlyn!) who are all so incredible each in their own way and who have taught me so much about life, friendship and following my passions. I could not be more grateful for their presence in my life or for my gem of a big. Even on my first heart sister date with Alli before she was my big she was encouraging me to get involved and push my comfort zone. She’s an amazing motivator and an even better friend and I know I can turn to her for advice on just about anything. These

Untitled

Haley and her future roommates, Kaitlyn, Sam, and Lexi!

people are just a few examples of the amazing women that are Sigma Kappa at Mizzou. I honestly can’t imagine my college experience without them, nor would I want to. If you’re looking for genuine, kind-hearted, fun-loving friends and sisters alike, look no further because Sigma Kappa is everything a girl could ever hope for in a sorority.

-Haley Rost, Fall 2015 Pledge Class

 

11947981_871914486235359_5530026839070511075_o

Alex (left) and her sister, Georgi!

Coming to Mizzou from San Diego, I had no idea what Greek life was about. I wasn’t sure whether joining a sorority was right for me, so I waited a semester, and I got to know amazing girls in each of the houses on campus. When I went through informal recruitment, how did I know which house was right for me?

I tell this story a lot, because it’s the best way to explain that feeling of “These are my people!” that I got from Sigma Kappa. I was visiting friends in another dorm, and in the elevator I saw a girl wearing a sweatshirt with SK letters on it. I couldn’t help but ask- “Hey! You’re in Sigma Kappa? I’m really interested in joining this spring if you’re doing informal recruitment!” And she gave me huge, genuine smile and starting talking excitedly about how much she loves her sisters and service, and helped me find out how to attend the recruitment events. She treated me like a sister before she even knew whether I would be. That was the sisterhood I wanted.

11223309_1075053809172857_6647087868431338248_n

The Spring 2014 COB pledge class!

Fast forward a few weeks, and suddenly I there I was, surrounded by women I clicked with right away and a house that was excited to welcome me into everything. It was unbelievable. Within a week I was dancing on the RAMS dance team (they made a space for me even though tryouts had already taken place before I joined), signed up for the Sigma Kappa team for Dance Marathon, involved in the philanthropy committee, and going to Dobbs for all-you-can-eat T-ravs with my pledge class. I have never met a more genuine, supportive, beautiful, hilarious, inspiring group of women, and I would do it all over again (and I wish I could, because I still can’t accept that I’m almost a senior).

-Alex Gnibus, Spring 2014 Pledge Class

 

Over the last two years, Sigma Kappa has given me many things to be thankful for: great friends, service opportunities, leadership opportunities, and a family.

10730879_10202705491867984_768978634124045356_n

Rylee and her aunt, Kelly!

Going Greek was one of the best decisions that I’ve made so far at Mizzou.  I’ve grown closer to my mom, who was in another Greek chapter, and my aunt, who was also a Sigma Kappa.  Although it may seem cliche, it gives us a different type of bond since we can share in the sisterhood together.

10955322_10203520866171832_5329156984372380946_o

Rylee and her friends, Sabrina, Marin, and Hannah!

I’ve met my best friends through this chapter.  Even though we’ve only known each other for a year and a half, I feel like I’ve known them my whole life.  We love to dance and laugh around our room, eat lots of Chick-fil-A, and watch Horrible Bosses until we know each line by heart.  Sigma Kappa is filled with such a diverse group of girls, and in my opinion, that’s what makes it so welcoming.  Everyone can find a friend here at SK.

12182480_10204990025339893_2874286343960307576_o

Rylee with her big, Claire, and little, Kaitlin!

And I can’t forget my big and my little.  These two have given me more than a friendship.  We’re family.  From hanging out and watching movies to getting swiped into the dining halls, these two are the two most amazing people I’ve met so far.  I couldn’t imagine my experience in Sigma Kappa or at Mizzou without these two!  They help to make this place my home away from home!

-Rylee Stoulil, Fall 2014 Pledge Class

 

Leave a Reply

